top of page


The Bergen County Historical Society, a non-profit, all-volunteer, 501 (c)(3) organization. We promote preservation, study and appreciation of local and state history. There are over 4,000 objects in our museum collections. The collections were begun in 1902 when the organization was founded. BCHS was invited to make its headquarters at the Steuben House (a state-historic site) in 1939 and provides all programming at Historic New Bridge Landing including educational events, reenactments, museum exhibits, monthly lectures. Other programs include placement of informative BCHS Blue markers throughout Bergen County, and an extensive library and rare document collection. BCHS owns and maintains over eight acres of land at Historic New Bridge Landing, River Edge, NJ. BCHS has two commissioners on the HNBL State Park Commission.


The Bergen County Historical Society is governed by the following officers, trustees, and past presidents. Each board member volunteers their time in different ways to lead the Society and follow in the footsteps of those that have gone before them since 1902.


HNBL tells the history of the country through a strategic location, architecture, and material culture in the heart of Bergen County, NJ's most populated county and only 5.6 miles from the George Washington Bridge/Manhattan.


The new planned museum building is in shape of a barn (3,528 SF - 2,232 SF on the ground floor) to compliment the three 18th c. Jersey Dutch sandstone houses. We are nearing completion of permitting process. The new building will provide exhibit space, meeting space, collection storage, kitchen and two ADA restrooms. Paid for by community support through donations and membership. 

7/2023 - 6/2024


President • Beverly Hashimoto
First Vice-President • Patricia Daurizio
Second Vice-President • 
Secretary • 
Treasurer • Andrea Jenner



Scott Barone, Rich Ciero, Michael Ginch, Lucy Kramer, Eric Model, Samantha Perkins, Denise Piccino, Kate Reilly, Dan Raftery, Muriel Roberts, PattyAnn Sayre and Ariel Woll.

Trustees Emeritus In Memoriam

Gus and Jean Newman, Claire K. Tholl, David Whieldon, Manfred Wegner


Past Presidents

Carol Restivo  6/2020-6/2023

Jim Smith  6/2017-6/2020

James E. Purcell  10/2016-6/2017
Kevin Wright  6/2016-10/2016
Jim Smith  6/2013-6/2016
Mike Trepicchio  6/2010-6/2013
Deborah Powell  6/2007-6/2010
Kevin Wright  6/2004-6/2007
Todd Braisted  2003-04
John Heffernan  2000-03
Robert Griffin  1997-00
Amy Adamo  1994-97
Timothy A driance  1991-94
Frank Lawrence  1989-91
Janet Odence  1986-89
John E. Spring  1983-86
Richard W. Lenk, Jr.  1980-83
Leo R. Halligan  1977-80
Marden R. Nystrom  1974-77
Albert B. Deardon  1971-74
Emorie Leiby  1968-7
T. Robert Kammer  1966-68
James M. Ransom  1963-66
Frederick W. Bogert  1961-63
Henry Dobson  1958-61
Albert T. Carpenter  1955-58



RESOLVED: That the Third Section of the Certificate of Incorporation of this Society made February 15, 1907 stating the purpose of the Society be, and it hereby is, amended to read as follows: “Third: The object of the Society shall be to collect and preserve data and objects having historical significance, and papers and documents incidental to the civil, political, military and general history of the United States of America, particularly of Bergen County and its adjoining areas; the collection of genealogical, biographical and topographical information; the dissemination of sound historical data; the encouragement of patriotic sentiment, and the production and distribution of historical materials for education, with emphasis on stimulating interest in the history of our region.”

BCHS Papers & Proceedings, 1920

bottom of page